MONTGOMERY -- A total of 99 Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) member schools have been announced as AHSAA Sportsmanship Schools for the 2018-19 school year.

The list of schools includes Elba, along with nearby Dale County High School and Pike County High School.

The schools, recognized for being ejection free and receiving no more than one non-sportsmanship school fine for the just completed school year, will be honored at the 12th annual AHSAA Sportsmanship Luncheon during the 2019 AHSAA Summer Conference and All-Star Sports Week.

The luncheon is slated for Friday, July 19, at the Montgomery Renaissance Hotel and Convention Center.

According to the AHSAA, 376 of the AHSAA’s 416 high schools have combined to earn the Sportsmanship Award recognition 1,195 times since 2008.

“We are extremely pleased to recognize 99 high schools for this noted accomplishment,” AHSAA Executive Director Steve Savarese said. “Our total fines were down 4.1 percent in 2018-19 over the previous year, and we thank all our schools for their commitment to teaching good sportsmanship and upholding the regulations and by-laws created by our member schools.”

The AHSAA also released its annual Ejection and School Fine report, reporting that 258 high schools had a total of 548 student-athlete and 70 coach ejections during the 2018-19 school year.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
Load comments