United Methdist Church logo

Several Wiregrass United Methodist churches – and the district that leads them – will receive new leaders beginning in July after the Alabama-West Florida Conference recently announced annual appointments.

In the United Methodist Church system, pastors accept appointments on a yearly basis – though many are reassigned to the same church for multiple years. A few pastors, like Harvest Church’s Ralph Sigler (23 years) and Covenant United Methodist Church’s Hays McKay (22), spend more than 20 years in a singular place but are still reappointed to their positions yearly.

Alabama-West Florida Conference Bishop David Graves made final the new set of appointments earlier this June, and they reflect a change at the top of the Dothan district.

Dr. Ed Glaize, previously the pastor at Fairhope United Methodist Church, will serve as the district’s superintendent beginning July 1. He replaces Sara Shaver – the first woman to lead the Dothan district – who will now lead Gulf Shores UMC.

The United Methodist Church ordained Glaize as an elder in 1994, according to a press release from the conference. He possesses an undergraduate degree from Huntingdon College, a master’s degree from Emory University, and a doctorate from the Columbia Theological Seminary.

He is married to another reverend, Alecia, who will serve in an extension ministry of the United Methodist Church.

Churches in the Dothan district experiencing changes in leadership this year are the following:

>> Asbury (Elba) – Danny Sherrer

>> Big Creek – William Warnock

>> Center Ridge/Sardis – Tommy Cumbie

>> Dothan First (associate) – Jack Hinnen

>> Echo – Alan Meyer

>> Geneva First/Pleasant Ridge – Tony Rosetta

>> Grimes – Teresa Gilland

>> Haleburg – Michael Woodard

>> Hartford First – Bill Messer

>> Heritage – Patrick McBride

>> Madrid – William Warnock

>> Midway/Comer/Springhill – Robbins Sims

>> Old Tabernacle – Wendall Benner

>> Ozark First – Jason Thrower

>> Ozark First (associate) – Stephan Margeson

>> Piney Grove – Liz Hinton

>> Pleasant Hill – Michael Lawler

>> Pleasant Ridge – Corbin Griffin

>> Pleasant Ridge/Ariton – Dave Mason

>> Rocky Creek – Glenda Carlson

>> Samson – Anthony Dean Moore

>> Sylvan Grove – Michael Profitt

>> Wesley Chapel – Brian Turner

>> Westview Heights – Jabe Fincher.

According to Mary Catherine Phillips, Alabama-West Florida Conference communications director, bishops in the United Methodist Church make appointments but maintain an “appointive cabinet” that meets year-round. The cabinets usually consist of district superintendents and an assistant to the bishop.

Appointments usually occur in the spring with an effective date of July 1, though some emergency considerations – like in cases of illness or death – occur, Phillips noted.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Follow Jeremy Wise on Twitter @DEgovbeat

Recommended for you

Load comments