0605 sec logo

OK, SEC Shorts, you’ve got some new bowl parodies to add.

The Southeastern Conference announced on Tuesday six-year agreements with 10 post-season bowls, including the addition of the Las Vegas Bowl and the Gasparilla Bowl in Tampa, Fla., beginning after the 2020 season.

Those 10 bowls are in addition to the College Football Playoff system. The SEC also participates in the Allstate Sugar Bowl in years the New Orleans game is not a CFP semifinal, and the Capital One Orange Bowl in selected years.

The SEC and Big Ten will alternate playing a Pac-12 team in the Las Vegas Bowl when that city’s new NFL Stadium opens in 2020 for the Oakland Raiders.

The SEC extended its agreements through 2025 with the Citrus Bowl in Orlando, the Outback Bowl in Tampa, the TaxSlayer Gator Bowl in Jacksonville, the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl in Nashville, the Academy Sports + Outdoors Texas Bowl in Houston, the AutoZone Liberty Bowl in Memphis and the Birmingham Bowl.

The league will continue its relationship with the Belk Bowl in Charlotte in alternating years, again with the Big Ten. The SEC will play in the Las Vegas Bowl against the Pac-12 in even years – 2020, 2022 and 2024. In those years, the Big Ten will play in the Belk Bowl. In odd years, the Big Ten will play in the Las Vegas Bowl and the SEC will play in Charlotte.

The new Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl in Tampa is in the alignment. The Independence Bowl in Shreveport, La., is no longer an SEC partner.

“We are pleased to have an SEC bowl lineup that provides exciting destinations for our student-athletes and traveling fans,” SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey said in a statement released by the league on Tuesday. “We enjoy great relationships with some of the best bowl games in college football and this lineup will continue to provide a wide array of rewarding bowl game experiences for our student-athletes and fans in celebration of a successful season.”

The league will continue its current selection process. After any SEC teams have qualified for the College Football Playoff, the Allstate Sugar Bowl or the Capital One Orange Bowl, the Citrus Bowl has the first selection of available SEC members.

After that, the SEC assigns team to a pool of six bowls – the Outbook, Gator, Music City, Texas and Liberty, as well as the Las Vegas Bowl in even years and the Belk Bowl in odd years.

In consultation with SEC institutions, as well as the bowl, the conference will make assignments for the games in the pool system.

After the pool of six games are assigned, the Birmingham Bowl and Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl will collaborate on the selection of remaining eligible teams each year.

In addition to the SEC, the Big Ten and Big 12 each announced their bowl partnerships on Tuesday.

Follow Ken Rogers on Twitter @debamabeat.

Recommended for you

Load comments